Queen’s Gambit, Dragon Age: Inquisition, and Even More Talking

Hello again!  I’ve spent the last two weeks either traveling and visiting with family and friends or immersing myself in Queen’s Gambit and Dragon Age: Inquisition.

Basically all I’ve done is hold conversations, both real and imagined.

Also all the main routes for Speakeasy Tonight, My Killer Romance, and To Love & Protect are currently on sale so I’ll be checking to see what I missed and trying those.

IMG_0435

I’ll start with the smaller game first.  Voltage Entertainment USA sent a preview code for Queen’s Gambit.  I poked around the first two character’s prologues and feel fairly optimistic.

  1. The art’s lovely, and the sprites and faces are more expressive than previous titles.
  2. Having a separate prologue for each character instead of one serving for every route is a definite positive.  In previous titles, the prologue and actual route could feel disconnected either through character inconsistency or contradictory plot points.
  3. Spy fiction isn’t my favorite genre, but so far I like these characters and how it’s presented.  They have the potential to be individuals who don’t regurgitate one-liners.  I’ll give it a go once it’s released.

Now for the bigger game.  Dragon Age: Inquisition is a time-warp.  A few nights I glanced at the clock and realized I had exactly two hours before the toddler got up for the day and I hadn’t slept and we all had so much to do and we had to leave soon but it was so worth it.  I had already decided on a Dalish mage before one of the developers said it tied in particularly well with the story.  He wasn’t kidding.  Without getting into spoilers…even the moments I expected made me ache for this protagonist in a “dang, writers, you earned that” way rather than a “really, guys, THIS was the only way you thought you could make me care?” way.

I’ll be back with Speakeasy Tonight‘s Elliot review and Shall We Date?: The Niflheim+‘s JJ review within the week.

 

11 thoughts on “Queen’s Gambit, Dragon Age: Inquisition, and Even More Talking

    • Yes, I paired the Dalish mage with Solas – mostly because I was curious to see what Weekes had written. One of Solas’ conversations in Haven made me angry enough that had it been any other writer I would have quit talking to him altogether. He’s a condescending porcupine who I seriously wanted to kick hard in the shins. Still do at times.

      Have you finished the game?

  1. Oh my goodness, I just finished the Solas play through and it hurts!!! Now I have to live with art works from fans on tmblr to try to feel better!

    • Ha – yes, I want to keep it that way. I’d hate for someone to trip over the reveal accidentally. I’ll make us another “Here there be spoilers – enter at your own risk” post when Toddler has been fed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

