Speakeasy Tonight Cliff POV Impressions and Review

This review assumes you have already played Cliff’s main route and makes no attempt to keep the plot unspoiled.

Positives

  • The scenes in which Cliff covers up the murders are interesting. His detachment and resignation work there.
  • The one thing that really bothered me in Cliff’s main route is omitted here.

Negatives

  • How Cliff describes his past and personality does not click with his main route. His inability to feel and process ANY emotions before the MC arrived had me trying to figure out exactly what kind of disorder he would be diagnosed with today – or if he’s simply a robot. This coupled with his careful mimicry of how others act in order to lie to them made me think of a serial killer. Was all this in his backstory before his main route? Because I never got that vibe before playing his POV. Y’all are creeping me out, Voltage.
  • Either you buy all the different metaphors for how Cliff sees the world or you don’t. I don’t. Every time he got started, I’d sigh and start tapping more quickly.
  • I wanted more time with secondary characters and less “MC is the greatest” daydreaming. The scene with Andrew is nice, but I was expecting something with Cleo since she features fairly prominently in the main route.

Overall: Not recommended.

Voltage Entertainment USA’s Speakeasy Tonight is available on iOS.

3 thoughts on “Speakeasy Tonight Cliff POV Impressions and Review

  1. Pingback: Speakeasy Tonight Review and Impressions | myladylydia
  2. I’m going through all your reviews, they are very informative!

    I too felt like his POV was too incongruous with the main story. I believe they tried to make him a sociopath due to his upbringing but why would he be attached to the MC, then? I didn’t see a reason on the POV.

    I did love his main route and this special made me replay the whole thing just too see if I missed something.

    The only part I thought it would match was when you catch him in the act, all bloodied and he walks over, smiling to you. Eeeek!

    • I’m glad someone’s getting some use out of them. I found so little information about different games (particularly Choice of Games and Voltage apps) that I wanted to share at least the very basics. like if it was ridiculously buggy or a story line doesn’t make sense. Have you checked out the blog otomeexperience.wordpress.com ? It’s not as active as it once was, but the writer gives detailed commentary on individual Voltage routes.

      One of Voltage USA’s employees was kind enough to pop onto their forums and say that Cliff’s character was set in stone before the POV, but I still don’t know if that means they were trying to go for the sociopath vibe and flubbed it by introducing his strong feelings for the MC – or if the author didn’t intend to make him seem like a serial killer in the making and just went a little overboard in his descriptions of how he didn’t feel before the MC showed up.

Leave a Reply

