Knight of My Heart: Jacques Impressions and Review – Spoiler Free

Basic Premise: The main character copes with abruptly learning about her royal lineage and with being under constant threat from would-be usurpers.

Positives

  • The relationship dynamic between Jacques and the MC is quite similar to that of my husband and myself so it felt believable.

  • Setting is reinforced by word choice and syntax.

  • The MC is well-read and usually makes sensible choices.

  • Ser Isabella is awesome; she needs her own spin-off.

  • Phillipe, Henri’s horse, has such an attitude that I laugh every time he appears. I tried Henri’s route just for him.

Negatives

  • The relationship dynamic between Jacques and the MC is quite similar to that of my husband and myself. I already have someone with whom to trade barbs and discuss literature and philosophy.

  • The art is painful. At least there are no comments about how handsome/pretty a character is. Those passages feel like wasted time in nicely illustrated games and completely jarring in poorly illustrated ones.

  • Some sentences use both “I” and “she” when referring to the MC.

  • Since the MC is well-read and has a fair grasp of the kingdom’s history, her surprise at Pierre’s pointing out that royal relationships have political ramifications felt out of place.

  • I want Jacques and Isabella together, dang it.

Wait-a-Minute Moments

  • The king’s initial plan to keep the MC safe does not seem particularly wise.

  • How did this village girl gain access to so many books?

Overall: I recommend Jacques’ route to anyone who likes an intelligent MC and can get past the art style choices.

Voltage Entertainment USA’s Knight of My Heart is available on iOS and Android.

 

Leave a Reply

