Knight of My Heart Nicolas Review and Impressions – Spoilers

Knight of My Heart‘s Nicolas route is so poorly executed I nearly quit in the second chapter. The knights are incompetent bodyguards. The main character and Nicholas have no natural relationship growth. Plot holes abound. The syntax and grammar need help.

I will say the MC improves as the story progresses. Her conflicted feelings about her new station and her willingness to take necessary action made me cheer at times. If I could divorce those parts from the unbelievable romance interactions I would really like her.

The only way I finished the game was to keep a running snark commentary as I played. I ended with four pages worth of cringe-worthy moments.  Here are a few of the worst offenders:

*SPOILERS AHEAD*

  • The characters talk like modern Americans.  No attempt was made through word choice and sentence structure to make it feel like a different time or place.

  • The cat’s eating bread. Why is the cat eating bread? And why can’t MC pet it? She could love on the horse (Phillipe) in other routes.

  • “I speak and act from my heart. What more do I need?” A tactical brain would be nice, MC, though as your knights seem as idiotic I won’t fuss at you alone.

  • “He picked me up and moved me.” Without warning or a by-your-leave. I treat my toddler with more respect than Nicolas does a grown woman. And she just accepts it.

  • Nicolas: “We have explained time and time again that no taxes have been collected against their will, but…” Pardon me, Nicolas, but that is either an incredibly bad interpretation of your Japanese counterpart’s line or the stupidest sentence I have ever found in a Voltage game. What, a serf or merchant can just DECLINE to pay his taxes and the government will be totally cool with losing that revenue and respect the decision? The mind boggles.

  • Robert, the rebellion leader, tries to recruit others to his cause and provides good reasons for doing so. Frankly, if the king and knights are an example of the monarchy’s competency, I’m with him.

  • Oh look. Deus Ex Pirachina. How on earth did the pirates know where and when to appear for their rescue?

  • Have a couple of syntax/grammar doozies: “eyes lingered on the handkerchief with such mysticism” and “peaked my interest.”

If you wish to try this MST3K-worthy route, Voltage Entertainment USA’s Knight of My Heart is available on iOS and Android.

I’ll be back with one of the good routes within the week.

Leave a Reply

